

July 18, 2025

May 16, 2025, Meeting Minutes

View Meeting Video

Chair Ed Musgrove (North County Inland) called the Public Safety Committee (PSC) to order at 1:00 p.m.

1. Non-Agenda Public Comments/Member Comments

Public Comments: Blair Beekman, Phone Number ending in 731, The Original Dra.

Member Comments: Chief Paul Connelly (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat A). Chief Dave McQuead (Regional Fire/Medical Emergency Services),

Consent

2. Approval of Meeting Minutes

The PSC was asked to approve April 18, 2025, meeting minutes.

Public Comments: The Original Dra and Blair Beekman

Member Comments: None.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Councilmember Henry Foster (City of San Diego), and a second by Chief Taurino Valdovinos (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat B), the PSC voted to approve the April 18, 2025, meeting minutes.

The motion passed.

Yes: Chair Musgrove, Vice Chair Kevin Shin (North County Coastal), Councilmember Luz Molina (South County), Councilmember Jessyka Heredia (East County), Councilmember Henry Foster, Supervisor Joel Anderson (County of San Diego), Chief David McQuead (Regional Fire/Emergency Medical Services), Sheriff Kelly Martinez (San Diego County Sheriffs Office), Chief Paul Connelly (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat A), Deputy Chief Rudy Tai (San Diego Police Department)

No: None.

Abstain: None.

Absent: None.

Reports

3. Automated Regional Justice Information System (ARJIS) Update

ARJIS Staff, Noy Lithyouvong, provided an update on recent ARJIS projects.

Public Comments: The Original Dra and Blair Beekman.

Member Comments: Councilmember Luz Molina (South County)

Action: Information.

4. Automated Regional Justice Information System (ARJIS) Accomplishments and Management Reports

ARJIS Staff, Noy Lithyouvong, presented the fiscal year 2024 accomplishments and metric usages for ARJIS and ARJIS agencies.

Public Comments: The Original Dra, Blair Beekman and Phone number ending in 731

Member Comments: Chief Taurino Valdovinos (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat B)

5. Enhancing Wildfire Response: The Role of Watch Duty in Situational Awareness

Nick Russell from Watch Duty presented the Watch Duty platform and its effectiveness in assisting with natural disasters and law enforcement.

Public Comments: The Original Dra, Phone number ending in 731, and Blair Beekman

Member Comments: Sheriff Kelly Martinez (San Diego County Sheriffs Office), Chief Taurino Valdovinos (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat B), Chief Paul Connelly (County Chiefs/Sheriffs Association Seat A), US Marshall Steve Stafford (Federal Public Safety), Vice Chair Kevin Shin (North County Coastal)

6. Adjournment

The next meeting of the PSC is scheduled for Friday, June 20, 2025, at 1 p.m.

Chair Musgrove adjourned the meeting at 2:18 p.m.

Confirmed Attendance at Public Safety Committee Meeting

Jurisdiction	Name	Member/ Alternate	Attend
Chiefs'/Sheriff's Association Seat A	Chief Paul Connelly	Member	Yes
	Chief Alex Hernandez	1 st Alternate	Yes
Chiefs'/Sheriff's Association Seat B	Chief Taurino Hernandez	Member	Yes
	Chief Roxana Kennedy	1 st Alternate	No
City of San Diego	Hon. Henry Foster III	Member	Yes
	Hon. Marni von Wilpert	1 st Alternate	No
County of San Diego	Supervisor Joel Anderson	Member	Yes
	Supervisor Monica Montgomery Steppe	1 st Alternate	No
San Diego County District Attorney	District Attorney Summer Stephen	Member	No
	Chief Investigator Jorge Duran	1 st Alternate	No
District / Mornicy	Deputy Chief Invest Donald Holmes	2 nd Alternate	No
5 10 1	Hon. Bill Wells	Member	No
East County	Hon. Jessyka Heredia	1 st Alternate	Yes
Regional Fire/	Chief Dave McQuead	Member	Yes
Emergency Medical Services	Vacant	1 st Alternate	N/A
North County Coostal	Hon. Kevin Shin – Vice Chair	Member	Yes
North County Coastal	Hon. Keith Blackburn	1 st Alternate	No
North County Inland	Hon. Ed Musgrove - Chair	Member	Yes
	Hon. Katie Melendez	1 st Alternate	No
San Diego Police Department	Chief Scott Wahl	Member	No
	Deputy Chief Rudy Tai	1 st Alternate	Yes
Ворантон	Assistant Chief Mike Holden	2 nd Alternate	No
San Diego County Sheriff	Sheriff Kelly Martinez	Member	Yes
	Undersheriff Richard Williams	1 st Alternate	No
	Assistant Sheriff Rick Lopez	2 nd Alternate	No
South County	Hon. Luz Molina	Member	Yes
	Hon. Carolina Chavez	1 st Alternate	No
Advisory Members	Name	Member/ Alternate	Attended
County Public Safety	Chief Tamika Nelson	Member	No
	Abigail Torres	1 st Alternate	No
Department of Defense	Matthew Crews	Member	No
	Michial Michalovich	1 st Alternate	No
Federal Public Safety	SAC Stacey Moy	Member	No
	SAC Brian Clark	1 st Alternate	No
	U.S. Marshal Steven Stafford	2 nd Alternate	Yes

Jurisdiction	Name	Member/ Alternate	Attend
Federal Public Safety	Kathleen Connon	Member	Yes
	Sidney Aki	1 st Alternate	No
	Logan Manning	2 nd Alternate	Yes
Homeland Security	Christopher Heiser	Member	No
	Jeffrey Toney	1 st Alternate	No
	Paul Dombrowski	Member	No
Planning Group	Eileen Delaney	1st Alternate	No
Regional Transit	Chris Carillio	Member	No
	Dan Brislin	1 st Alternate	Yes
Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association	Robert H. Smith	Member	No
	Leia Arviso	1 st Alternate	No
State Public Safety	Chief Anthony Coronado	Member	No
	Assistant Chief Craig Root	1 st Alternate	No
	Captain Reggie Williams	2 nd Alternate	Yes