March 21, 2025

February 21, 2025, Joint Meeting Minutes

Chair David Zito (North County Coastal) called the joint Transportation, Regional Planning, and Borders Committee meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. SANDAG Chief Executive Officer Mario Orso welcomed members of the committees and the public to the meeting.

1. Public Comments/Communications/Member Comments

Public Comments: Doris Nguyen, Purita Javier, Cesar Javier, Rita Clement, Truth.

Reports

2. Transportation, Regional Planning, and Borders Committee 101

Senior Director Robyn Wapner introduced the item. Senior Regional Planners Brian Lane and Stacey Cooper and Borders Program Manager Hector Vanegas presented an overview of the Transportation, Regional Planning, and Borders Committee to inform members of SANDAG's governance structure and the responsibilities of each committee.

Public Comments: Truth, Cesar Javier.

Action: Information.

3. 2025 Regional Plan Update

Senior Director of Regional Planning Antoinette Meier presented an update on the Draft 2025 Regional Plan Transportation Network. Committee members participated in a Q&A session with staff following the presentation.

Public Comments: Truth.

Member Comments: Councilmember Laura Koval (East County), Mayor Rebecca Jones (North County Inland), Mayor Ron Morrison (South County), Borders Committee Chair Carolina Chavez (South County), Councilmember Jennifer Mendoza (East County), Transportation Committee Vice Chair Sean-Elo Rivera (City of San Diego).

Action: Discussion.

4. Adjournment

The next Transportation Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, March 21, 2025, at 1 p.m.

Chair Zito adjourned the meeting at 11:31 a.m.

Confirmed Attendance at SANDAG Transportation Meeting

Jurisdiction	Name	Member/ Alternate	Attend
San Diego County Regional Airport Authority	Mayor Esther Sanchez	Member	Yes
	Rafael Perez	Alternate	Yes
City of San Diego	Councilmember Sean Elo-Rivera	Member	Yes
	Councilmember Marni von Wilpert	Alternate	No
County of San Diego	Supervisor Monica Montgomery Steppe	Member	No
	Supervisor Joel Anderson	Alternate	No
	Vacant	Alternate	No
East County	Mayor Pro Tem Jennifer Mendoza	Member	Yes
	Councilmember Ronn Hall	Alternate	No
Metropolitan Transit System	Vice Mayor Patricia Dillard	Member	Yes
	Councilmember Cesar Fernandez	Alternate	No
North County Coastal	Councilmember David Zito	Member	Yes
	Deputy Mayor Joy Lyndes	Alternate	No
North County Inland	Mayor Dane White	Member	No
	Councilmember Mike Sannella	Alternate	No
North County Transit District	Mayor Pro Tem Priya Bhat-Patel	Member	No
	Councilmember Jewel Edson	Alternate	No
	Deputy Mayor Eric Joyce	Alternate	No
Port of San Diego	Commissioner Michael Zucchet	Member	No
	Job Nelson	Alternate	Yes
South County	Mayor John Duncan	Member	No
	Councilmember Cesar Fernandez	Alternate	No
Advisory Members			
Caltrans	Ann Fox	Member	Yes
	Melina Pereira	Alternate	No
	Vacant	Alternate	No
Southern California Tribal Chairmen's Association	Erica Pinto	Member	No
	Eric LaChappa	Alternate	No