January 31, 2025

January 24, 2025, Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

View Meeting Video

Chair Lesa Heebner (Solana Beach) called the meeting of the Board of Directors to order at 9:01 a.m.

1. Non-Agenda Public Comments/Member Comments

Public Comments: Michael Brando, Alan C., Truth, Jack Shu, Purita Javier, Cesar Javier, Rita Clement, Doris Nguyen.

Member Comments: Councilmember Kevin Shin (Carlsbad), Councilmember Kent Lee (City of San Diego – Seat B), and Councilmember Cesar Fernandez (Chula Vista).

Consent

2. Approval of Meeting Minutes

The Board of Directors was asked to approve the minutes from its January 10, 2025, meeting, as amended to correct the voting record on Item 6B as well as member titles.

3. Chief Executive Officer Delegated Actions

In accordance with various Board Policies, this report summarized delegated actions taken by the Chief Executive Officer.

4. Policy Advisory Committee Actions

The Board of Directors was asked to ratify the actions taken by the Policy Advisory Committees as noted in the report.

5. Review of Draft Board Agenda

The Board of Directors was asked to approve the draft agenda for the January 31, 2025, Board of Directors meeting.

6. Approval of Proposed Solicitation for Engineering Design Review and Quality Assurance for Capital Projects

The Board of Directors was asked to authorize the Chief Executive Officer to conduct a solicitation for Engineering Design Review and Quality Assurance for Capital Projects as detailed in the report.

7. Access for All Grant Program: Cycle 2 Call for Projects Funding Recommendations

The Board of Directors was asked to approve the Cycle 2 Funding Recommendations for the Access for All Grant Program.

Public Comments: Alan C., Truth, Allegedly Audra, Arun Prem, Cesar Javier, Katheryn Rhodes, Blair Beekman, Paul the Bold, Consuelo.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Mayor Rebecca Jones (San Marcos) and a second by Mayor Esther Sanchez (Oceanside), the Board voted to approve the Consent Agenda.

The motion passed.

Yes: Chair Heebner, Vice Chair Joe LaCava (City of San Diego – Seat A), Second Vice Chair John Minto

(Santee), Councilmember Shin, Councilmember Fernandez, Mayor John Duncan (Coronado), Mayor Terry Gaasterland (Del Mar), Mayor Bill Wells (El Cajon), Mayor Bruce Ehlers (Encinitas), Mayor Dane White (Escondido), Councilmember Jack Fisher (Imperial Beach), Mayor Alysson Snow (Lemon Grove), Councilmember Luz Molina (National City), Mayor Sanchez, Mayor Jones, and Deputy Mayor Katie Melendez (Vista).

No: None.

Abstain: None.

Absent: County of San Diego, La Mesa, Poway.

Reports

8. Independent Performance Auditor's Annual Performance Evaluation and Audit Committee's Recommended Compensation Adjustment

The Board of Directors was asked to discuss the Independent Performance Auditor's annual performance evaluation results and approve the salary adjustment as recommended by the Audit Committee.

Public Comments: Alan C., Truth, Allegedly Audra, Cesar Javier, Paul the Bold, Katheryn Rhodes, Blair Beekman, Consuelo.

<u>Action</u>: Upon a motion by Mayor Gaasterland and a second by Deputy Mayor Melendez, the Board of Directors voted to approve the salary adjustment as recommended by the Audit Committee.

The motion passed.

Yes: Chair Heebner, Vice Chair LaCava, Second Vice Chair Minto, Councilmember Shin, Councilmember Fernandez, Mayor Duncan, Mayor Gaasterland, Mayor Wells, Mayor Ehlers, Mayor White, Councilmember Fisher, Mayor Snow, Councilmember Molina, Mayor Sanchez, Mayor Jones, and Deputy Mayor Melendez.

No: None.

Abstain: None.

Absent: County of San Diego, La Mesa, Poway.

9. 2024 SANDAG Ethical Climate Survey

Independent Performance Auditor Courtney Ruby and Audit Committee Chair David Zito presented the results of the 2024 SANDAG Ethical Climate Survey for information and discussion.

Public Comments: Alan C., Truth, Jack Shu, Allegedly Audra, Cesar Javier, Katheryn Rhodes, Paul the Bold, Consuelo.

Action: Discussion.

10. SANDAG 201

Director of Public Affairs Robyn Wapner presented an update on the agency's activities.

Public Comments: Alan C., Truth, Allegedly Audra, Jack Shu, Cesar Javier, Katheryn Rhodes, Paul the Bold, Consuelo.

Action: Information.

Continued Non-Agenda Public Comment: Allegedly Audra, Paul the Bold, Katheryn Rhodes, Consuelo.

11. Adjournment

The next Board of Directors meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 31, 2025, at 9 a.m.

Chair Heebner adjourned the meeting at 12:37 p.m.

Confirmed Attendance at SANDAG Board of Directors Meeting

Board of Directors	Title	Name	Attend
City of Carlsbad	Councilmember	Kevin Shin (Primary)	Yes
City of Chula Vista	Councilmember	Cesar Fernandez (Alternate)	Yes
City of Coronado	Mayor	John Duncan (Primary)	Yes
County of San Diego	Supervisor	Vacant (Primary)	
County of San Diego	Supervisor	Joel Anderson (Primary)	No
City of Del Mar	Mayor	Terry Gaasterland (Primary)	Yes
City of El Cajon	Mayor	Bill Wells (Primary)	Yes
City of Encinitas	Mayor	Bruce Ehlers (Primary)	Yes
City of Escondido	Mayor	Dane White (Primary)	Yes
City of Imperial Beach	Councilmember	Jack Fisher (Primary)	Yes
City of La Mesa	Mayor	Mark Arapostathis (Primary)	No
City of Lemon Grove	Mayor	Alysson Snow (Alternate)	Yes
City of National City	Councilmember	Luz Molina (Primary)	Yes
City of Oceanside	Mayor	Esther Sanchez (Primary)	Yes
City of Poway	Mayor	Steve Vaus (Primary)	No
City of San Diego	Councilmember	Kent Lee (Alternate)	Yes
City of San Diego	Vice Chair	Joe LaCava (Primary)	Yes
City of San Marcos	Mayor	Rebecca Jones (Primary)	Yes
City of Santee	Second Vice Chair	John Minto (Primary)	Yes
City of Solana Beach	Chair	Lesa Heebner (Primary)	Yes
City of Vista	Deputy Mayor	Katie Melendez (Primary)	Yes
Caltrans	Executive Director	Ann Fox (Primary)	Yes
Metropolitan Transit System	Deputy Mayor	Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez (Primary)	Yes
North County Transit District	Councilmember	Jewel Edson (Primary)	No
Imperial County	Supervisor	Jesus Eduardo Escobar (Primary)	Yes
U.S. Department of Defense	Executive Director	Anna Shepherd (Alternate)	Yes
Port of San Diego	Commissioner	Dan Malcolm (Primary)	No
San Diego County Water Authority	Director	Patricia Dillard (Primary)	No
SDCRAA	Director	Gil Cabrera (Primary)	Yes
Mexico	Consul General	Alicia Kerber (Primary)	No
SCTCA	Chairwoman	Erica Pinto (Primary)	No
Planning Association	Chairwoman	Robin Joy Maxson	Yes